By default, every time you take a screen shot in Mac OS X, the file is be saved to the current user’s desktop. This is an easy and practical approach for a couple of screen shots, but for those who take a lot of screen shots in Mac OS X for QA purposes :wink:, they may find their desktop cluttered with files very quickly.
To change the default path, run the following in Terminal:
defaults write com.apple.screencapture location ~/Name_of_the_folder/
And reload everything:
First published on April 15, 2016